$50,000 and $25,0000 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships Offered by the Phillips Foundation for 2013

Posted by & filed under Uncategorized.


Applications Available for Print and Online Journalists

Washington, DC, November 12, 2012 — The Phillips Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2013 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program.  Print and online journalists with less than 10 years of professional experience are eligible.  The Foundation created this program to provide fellowships for writing projects by journalists who share its mission to advance constitutional principles, a democratic society and a vibrant free enterprise system.

The Phillips Foundation awards $50,000 full-time and $25,000 part-time fellowships to undertake and complete a one-year project of the applicant’s choosing focusing on journalism supportive of American culture and a free society.  In addition, the Foundation offers separate yearlong fellowships on the environment, on the benefits of free-market competition, and on law enforcement.  There are also Alumni Fund Fellowships funded by donations from current and former Novak Fellows.  Alumni Fund Fellowship winners write one magazine-length article on their topic.

The Foundation awarded seven fellowships in 2012:

Full-time Fellowship

  •  Christine Won for “North Korea: – – A Better Understanding.”

Part-time Fellowships

  • Caitrin Nicol for “Seeking the Soul in American Medicine.”
  • Mary Rose Somarriba for “Exploring the Connections between Pornography and Sex Trafficking.”
  • Katherine Timpf for “As California Goes, So Goes the Nation: The Consequences of Following Golden State Policy.”
  • Michael Warren for “Race to Opportunity:  How Modern Liberalism is Failing Minorities and What Conservatism Has to Offer.”
  • Tate Watkins for “Open Borders as Engines of American Wealth and Innovation Creation.”

Alumni Fund Fellowship

  • Zachary Janowski for “Price Fixing: How Government’s Obsession with What We Pay Taxes us All.”

For a list of all 110 fellowship winners and their projects since inception of the program in 1994, visit www.novakfellowships.org.

The Foundation is looking for journalism projects which are both original and publishable.  The winners will deliver four quarterly writing installments with the potential to be published sequentially in a periodical or as a book.

Applications must be postmarked by February 12, 2013.  The winners will be announced next May at an awards dinner at the National Press Club in Washington.  The starting date for the fellowships is September 1, 2013.  Applicants must be citizens of the United States.

For an application, visit www.novakfellowships.org, or contact:  The Phillips Foundation, 1 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 620, Washington, DC  20001.  Phone:  202-677-4633.

E-mail: [email protected]






Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>